Knife + Pen

Columbia Flower Market

In Uncategorized on April 4, 2010 at 3:57 pm

plants + plants

Buried in Hackney among the curry shops, cheap shoe stores and a tattoo parlor is a burst of color, the Columbia Flower Market. Ensconced by council flats, vendors sell mile high orchids, rich herbs, and viney doctor’s office plants all in the staccato accent that is reminiscence of Shakespeare’s groundlings. If you are lucky one will pluck an extra bloom for you and bark, “there’s you goes darling” while smiling and menacingly waving the flower in your face.

"Five quid for these lass"

For the boys are plenty of retro art stores, fried objects and of course some vintage stores that I have never been able to fully explore, since Seth says “yes you can go in” and then encourages me to take my time by pressing his face against the glass, snorting and writing “I hate you” into the steam.

Columbia Road is also surprisingly active and sweet on its days off.  Stores sit prettily and shopkeepers quietly keep to themselves as locals run their fingers over modern prints and hand made dresses.

  1. too bad i can’t be there to explore the stores with you and ditch seth and randall to watch a football match in a pub…

  2. “and then encourages me to take my time by pressing his face against the glass, snorting and writing “I hate you” into the steam.”

    HAAAAAAAA haha

Leave a comment